You are here

Portiuncula University Hospital awarded Radiology Department of the year

Portiuncula University Hospital awarded Radiology Department of the year

We are pleased to announce that the Radiology Department at Portiuncula University Hospital Ballinasloe has been awarded the 2016 MEDRAY Radiology Department of the year award. The award was presented at The Irish Institute of Radiography and Radiation Therapy (IIRRT) annual conference which was held in Dublin on 08 October 2016.

James Keane, General Manager, Portiuncula University Hospital, commented, “It is a credit to all the staff in the radiology department who work extremely hard on a daily basis to provide an excellent service to all patients in the hospital and to the local community.”

Three Radiology Departments were shortlisted for the award, Portiuncula University Hospital, Connolly Hospital and the Mater Hospital. The winner was decided by combining the results of a public vote (30%) and the site visit (70%).

Margaret Dervan, Radiology Services Manager, Portiuncula Hospital said, “This award is a tribute to the professionalism and caring nature of our Radiographers, Radiologists and clerical staff. We are proud of our department, our service and our other team members within the hospital.” 

L:R Theresa O Donovan, President IIRRT; Margaret Dervan, Radiographic Services Manager; Maeve Darcy, Senior Radiographer; Avril Hanly, Senior Radiographer and Aidan O Reilly, Medray.

The article above is specific to the following Saolta hospitals:: 
Portiuncula University Hospital (PUH)